Four Russian regions plan to create the regional union “Donbass”

12.07.2023, Rostov-on-Don.

An agreement on a partnership of regions within the framework of the regional union “Donbass” between Rostov region, Lugansk and Donetsk People’s Republics (DPR and LPR),  and Voronezh region will be signed by September, the head of the Rostov governor’s press service Irina Chetvertakova wrote on her Telegram channel on July 12.

Rostov region’s Governor Vasiliy Golubev proposed to the heads of the LPR and DPR to resume cooperation within the framework of the regional union “Donbass,” Chetvertakova said. She emphasized that the Voronezh region was also invited to cooperate.

It is planned that the document on the creation of the regional union “Donbass” will be signed in the next couple of months, possibly as early as September.

The agreement on creating the Euroregion “Donbass” between the then-Ukrainian Lugansk, Donetsk and Russian Rostov regions was signed in 2010, the press service recalled. Also, Voronezh region joined the agreement. This agreement was listed in European entities.

“The strategy of development of the Euroregion until 2020 was developed and approved, the concept of placement of industrial parks of border regions was prepared, work began in the framework of joint investment projects,” said the head of the press service. However, in 2014 the partnership was stopped.

Rostov region signed a new cooperation agreement with the LPR and DPR after the republics returned to Russia.

Source: Rossa Primavera News Agency