Russia has closed its skies to airlines of the EU and other countries

28.02.2022, Moscow.

Aircraft from 36 countries will not be able to use the airspace over Russia without permission, Rosaviatsia reported on February 28.

It is reported that the restriction of flights of foreign airlines was adopted in response to the closure of the skies to flights by Russian aircraft.

“As a response to European states’ ban on civilian aircraft flights,” the Rosaviatsiya statement said.

According to the agency, the “blacklist” includes air carriers from 36 states, including EU countries, the United Kingdom, and Canada. The United States is not on the list. As of February 28, flights from these states are carried out only with a special permission from the Federal Air Transport Agency or the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia.

“Restrictions have been imposed on flights by air carriers of 36 states,” the Rosaviatsia reports.

Since February 28, the European Union banned Russian planes to fly over its territory. Canada had closed its airspace for Russian aircraft the day before.

Source: Rossa Primavera News Agency

Leave a Reply