Kurginyan: Ukraine left the USSR illegally and thus has no right to Crimea

14.08.2021, Aleksandrovskoye.

Ukraine’s exit from the USSR was illegal; therefore, international standards cannot prevent Crimea from re-integrating with Russia, political scientist and the leader of the Essence of Time movement Sergey Kurginyan said on August 5 on the air of the Tema program on the Union channel of Donetsk.

The most substantial arguments supporting Crimea’s re-integration into Russia, like Khrushchev’s voluntarism etc., do not outweigh one decisive fact regarding this issue, Kurginyan said.

The State Committee on the State of Emergency (Russian: GKChP) could not eliminate the Congress of Peoples’ Deputies of the USSR and other legitimate authorities, the political scientist said.

He explained that the Congress of Peoples’ Deputies of the USSR was the supreme governmental authority, and it had no right to dissolve.

“Therefore, there was a law regulating the exit procedure for union republics, and it had never been revoked,” the leader of Essence of Time stressed. He reminded that this law was democratically adopted in the USSR, and that also the Helsinki Act on the inviolability of borders existed.

“Ukraine left the Soviet Union violating the law of the Soviet Union. Its exit was illegal, among other things. The Belovezhye Accords were illegitimate,” the expert said.

Kurginyan indicated the principle of Soviet law regulating the exit of the union republics from the USSR, “Who wants to stay can stay within Russia; the rest are free to leave with Ukraine.”

The political scientist asked where Crimea would have been if its residents had been asked where they wanted to live in 1991. He believes that Crimea would not have been the only region who would want to stay with Russia.

“Therefore, we do not need all these speculations about some international law and international rules and norms preventing Crimea from becoming part of Russia. These are very disgraceful speculations,” the expert concluded.

On December 8, 1991, the presidents of three union republics, the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic, the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic, and the Belarusian Soviet Socialist Republic, Boris Yeltsin, Leonid Kravchuk, and Stanislav Shushkevich, signed the Belovezhye Accords.

According to the Accords, the Soviet Union was dissolved, and the Commonwealth of Independent States was established. The ratification of the Belovezhye Accords in the union republics marked the end of the USSR on December 26, 1991.

The Belovezhye Accords not only violated the law regulating the exit of union republics from the USSR, but they also ignored the All-Union Referendum on preserving the USSR of March 17, 1991.

148 million citizens of the USSR participated in the referendum, of whom 77.85% voted for preserving the USSR.

Source: Rossa Primavera News Agency

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


6 − 2 =